IH PARTS AMERICA
Click Here!

Go Back   IH PARTS AMERICA > Tech Forums > Gas Engine Tech
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Photo Gallery Store Home

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2012, 11:57 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member Number: 5094
Default 304 V8 engine difference

Hello,

Please excuse my ignorance, but I am new to IH trucks, but I'm learning a lot as I read through all the posts on this site.
But I have one question I can't find answered definitively anywhere. There is a 304 engine used in the later AMC Jeeps - is it basically the same 304 engine used in early 60's IH trucks?
And is there any note-worthy differences between the 304 in my 62 pick-up and other 304 engines used in later IH trucks?

Thanks for your help.

Steve
overdrivesteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 02:59 AM   #2 (permalink)

Member Number: 697
Default Re: 304 V8 engine difference

The AMC 304 and the IH 304 are two different engines. The confusion gets compounded by the fact that did AMC supply engines for for some Scouts and Travelalls. Here's the breakdown:

4 Cylinder engines (152/196) were built by IH.
Early 6 cylinder engines (Blue Diamond, Red Diamond, etc) were also IH.
Later 6 cylinder engines (Scout IIs) had AMCs (same as the Jeeps of the era).
266, 304, 345, and 392 V8s were all IH sourced engines.
Finally, AMC provided 401 V8s for a short time as an option in Full size platforms.

Then there's the transmission conversation. The later automatics were sourced from Chrysler. They were TF727s built to IH specs with IH-specific bell housings. Contrary to popular rumors, one cannot simply drop a Mopar engine into a Scout with a 727. One would have to use the correct Mopar 727 and then the proper Mopar/IH tail housing to mate to the XFR case.

Clear as mud, right?
Dealbreaker74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 08:47 AM   #3 (permalink)

Member Number: 453